Software Development Life cycle(SDLC)

Software Development Life cycle(SDLC)

Software Development Lifecycle:

Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) Refers to Processes used to plan, create, test and deploy an information system.  It consist a detail plan how a system is going to develop, how to maintain and replace specific software.

SDLC metrology helps to improve software development quality and overall development.

Basically it consists 6 steps:

  1. Gather Requirement
  2. Design
  3. Development
  4. Testing
  5. Deploy
  6. Maintenance


  1. Requirement Gathering: Understand the user requirements and user business goals.
  2. Design:  Design the software UI and back-end Structures i.e database.
  3. Development: In development phase, developer do the coding on selected  development platform.
  4. Testing:  Once development activity has finished, testing activity takes place. In this phase tester verify the system functionality against the requirement.
  5. Deployment: Given to the users in a production and utilize the system.
  6. Maintenance:  Bug Fixes and other updates needed in the system.

Following figure will help you to understand the SDLC process flow.